Advanced Photonics

Advanced Photonics Colloquium

Please join Editors in Chief Anatoly Zayats and Xiao-Cong (Larry) Yuan for the Advanced Photonics Colloquium. This free technical event will take place over three days, featuring well-known researchers in the hottest areas of photonics research, including nanophotonics, metasurfaces, quantum, and imaging. Browse the program below. You’re certain to find a topic of interest to you in a time zone that works for you.

Full Program

Jan. 12, 2021Meta/Nano
Session 1A 1 a.m. Pacific | 9 a.m. London | 5 p.m. Beijing
Dragomir Neshev
Australian National University (Australia)
Infrared up-conversion imaging by nonlinear semiconductor metasurfaces
30min
Isabelle Staude
University of Jena (Germany)
Tailoring light fields with semiconductor metasurfaces: stacking functional layers
30min
Session moderator
Olivier Martin
EPFL (Switzerland)
Session 1B 9 a.m. Pacific | 5 p.m. London | 1 a.m. (+1 day) Beijing
Mario Silveirinha
University of Lisbon (Portugal)
Fractional Chern numbers and topological pumping in photonic systems
30min
Gennady Shvets
Cornell University (USA)
Topological photonics on the nanoscale
30min
Session moderator
Yeshaiahu (Shaya) Fainman
University of California San Diego (USA)
Jan. 13, 2021Imaging
Session 2A 1 a.m. Pacific | 9 a.m. London | 5 p.m. Beijing
Renjie Zhou
Chinese University of Hong Kong (China)
High spatial and temporal resolution synthetic aperture phase microscopy
30min
Guohai Situ
Shanghai Institute of Optics and Fine Mechanics, Chinese Academy of Sciences (China)
Learning-based lensless imaging through optically thick scattering media
30min
Session moderator
Michael Somekh
Shenzhen University (China)
Session 2B 9 a.m. Pacific | 5 p.m. London | 1 a.m. (+1 day) Beijing
Evgenii Narimanov
Purdue University (USA)
Resolution limit of optical imaging
30min
Aydogan Ozcan
UCLA (USA)
Diffractive optical neural networks designed by deep learning
30min
Session moderator
Prineha Narang
Harvard University (USA)
Jan. 14, 2021Imaging/Quantum
Session 3A 1 a.m. Pacific | 9 a.m. London | 5 p.m. Beijing
Shixiang Xu
Shenzhen University (China)
Single-shot high-spatiotemporal resolution ultrafast imaging with a frame rate up to 15 Tfps
30min
Chao Zuo
Nanjing University of Science and Technology (China)
Fringe pattern analysis using deep learning
30min
Session moderator
Peng Xi
Peking University (China)
Session 3B 9 a.m. Pacific | 5 p.m. London | 1 a.m. (+1 day) Beijing
Oliver Benson
Humboldt University Berlin (Germany)
Quantum optics with nanodiamonds
30min
Fabio Sciarrino
University of Rome, Sapienza (Italy)
Vector vortex beam: classical and quantum applications
30min
Session moderator
Mario Agio
University of Siegen (Germany)